Iaito Katana by John Lee

In the Bokken-Shop you will find a wide range of Iaito and blunted katana from the John Lee brand for Iaido, Battojutsu, Kenjutsu, Bujinkan and other martial arts.

We have had the hand-forged blades expertly blunted for safe training in the dojo. The company behind John Lee is Haller Stahlwaren. I have had good experiences with these swords myself in my sword seminars. The feedback from various dojos has also been consistently positive.

The speciality of the John Lee swords lies in the use of traditional materials and a sword construction that follows Japanese traditions. The blades of the Iaito and Katana have a long tang, are secured in the handle with two bamboo pins and can be dismantled like the originals. These are good entry-level Iaito with a convincing price-performance ratio, but advanced budoka will also get their money's worth with the higher-priced models with detailed ornamental designs based on Japanese models.

I recommend the following sword lengths as the maximum length. For many, one to two sizes smaller is optimal. Women in particular, who wear the sword above the pelvis and therefore higher than men, often get on better with two sizes smaller. If you have any questions, please get in touch and I will be happy to advise you!

Body length / maximum sword length

155 - 160 cm / 2,30 Shaku = 69,7 cm blade length
160 - 165 cm / 2.35 Shaku = 71.2 cm blade length
165 - 170 cm / 2,40 Shaku = 72,7 cm blade length
170 - 175 cm / 2,45 Shaku = 74,2 cm blade length
175 - 180 cm / 2,50 Shaku = 75,8 cm blade length
180 - 185 cm / 2,55 Shaku = 77,3 cm Blade length
185 - 190 cm / 2,60 Shaku = 78,8 cm blade length
190 - 195 cm / 2,65 Shaku = 80,3 cm blade length
195 - 200 cm / 2.70 Shaku = 81,8 cm blade length

ATTENTION: Measure from the edge of the habaki (blade ferrule) on the back of the blade to the tip of the sword and not from the tsuba (hand guard) to the tip of the sword! The habaki sits on the blade side of the tsuba. The size chart is based on the official recommendation of the German Iaido Association and is for information purposes only.
 

1 to 8 (from a total of 27)

Iaito Katana der Marke John Lee

Im Bokken-Shop findest Du ein großes Angebot von Iaito und stumpf geschliffenen Katana der Marke John Lee für Iaido, Battojutsu, Kenjutsu, Bujinkan und andere Kampfkünste.

Wir haben die von Hand geschmiedeten Klingen für das sichere Training im Dojo fachmännisch extra stumpf schleifen lassen. Hinter John Lee verbirgt sich die Firma Haller Stahlwaren. Ich habe mit diesen Schwertern selbst gute Erfahrungen in meinen Schwertseminaren gemacht. Auch die Rückmeldungen aus unterschiedlichen Dojos sind durchweg positiv.

Die Besonderheit der John-Lee-Schwerter liegt in der Verwendung traditioneller Materialien und einem Schwertaufbau, der japanischen Überlieferungen folgt. Die Klingen der Iaito und Katana haben eine lange Angel, sind mit zwei Bambusstiften im Griff gesichert und wie die Originale zerlegbar. Es handelt sich um gute Einsteiger-Iaito mit einem überzeugenden Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis, aber auch fortgeschrittene Budoka kommen bei den höherpreisigen Modellen mit detailreich ausgearbeiteten Zierraten nach japanischen Vorbildern auf ihre Kosten.

Ich empfehle Dir folgende Schwertlängen als maximale Länge. Für viele ist ein bis zwei Größen kleiner optimal. Insbesondere Frauen, die das Schwert oberhalb des Beckens und damit höher als Männer tragen, kommen mit zwei Nummern kleiner oft besser zurecht. Bei Fragen melde Dich, ich berate Dich gerne!


Körperlänge / maximale Schwertlänge

155 - 160 cm / 2,30 Shaku = 69,7 cm Klingenlänge
160 - 165 cm / 2,35 Shaku = 71,2 cm Klingenlänge
165 - 170 cm / 2,40 Shaku = 72,7 cm Klingenlänge
170 - 175 cm / 2,45 Shaku = 74,2 cm Klingenlänge
175 - 180 cm / 2,50 Shaku = 75,8 cm Klingenlänge
180 - 185 cm / 2,55 Shaku = 77,3 cm Klingenlänge
185 - 190 cm / 2,60 Shaku = 78,8 cm Klingenlänge
190 - 195 cm / 2,65 Shaku = 80,3 cm Klingenlänge
195 - 200 cm / 2,70 Shaku = 81,8 cm Klingenlänge


ACHTUNG: Gemessen wird vom Rand des Habaki (Klingenzwinge) am Klingenrücken bis zur Schwertspitze und nicht von der Tsuba (Stichblatt) bis zur Schwertspitze! Das Habaki sitzt auf der Klingenseite der Tsuba. Die Größentabelle basiert auf der offiziellen Empfehlung des deutschen Iaido-Verbands und dient nur zu Informationszwecken.

1 bis 8 (von insgesamt 27)